My Stab At Heartache

Leaving behind the first part of my life to move on to the next, evokes heartaches of all kinds. I feel as if I am beginning to get nostalgic with just about everything. And it’s more than just over how much I am going to miss my best friends, my parents, my room… But it’s becoming- how will I sleep without my chihuahua Becky at night? What will I do without my mom’s cuban coffee? I really am going to miss the way I carry a whole wardrobe in my trunk, speak Spanglish to the people at my grocery store and all my emotional ties to this city. So, with that it brings me to discuss heartache. It’s painful, sad and aching. It hurts so much sometimes that even though you’re doing a bunch of different things you still manage a sick feeling of emptiness to linger, as if something is still missing. How can you heal a broken heart? Well, just runaway to a new city! Hahaa, I’m just kidding. I’ve come to learn that appreciating what you have suddenly fills those cracks. I’ve been through a very difficult past two years and have experienced some very heartbreaking moments. And if I wanted to run away I would’ve done so awhile back. But I stayed.. and in doing so I have realized the power of faith, the value of courage and the beauty it is to have hope. I have found faith in seeing that my dear friend has overcome many odds to be talking, standing, walking and here with us all again. I have been able to pick-up and leave without looking back knowing I made a courgeous decision for the betterment of myself. And I have first-hand wittnessed love whether it be going on to 30 years of marriage, a recently wed couple or a first boyfriend- and that gives me all the hope I need to overcome any heartache. So, when I am feeling a little down or I do miss home and when I try to think happy thoughts and instead comes heartache I’ll remember to fight it off with a little faith, courgae and hope.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life

Leave a Reply

